Local Government Elections

Nominate as a candidate (external link to Nomination Builder)Local government elections are held on the third Saturday in October every two years.

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

Information for electors

Information for candidates

The Electoral Commissioner is responsible for conducting postal elections in Western Australia and conducts voting in person elections on request under the Local Government Act 1995. By making the Electoral Commissioner responsible for these elections, the local governments concerned ensure that elections are conducted independently and with impartiality. In addition, these local government have adopted a method of conducting elections that is more convenient for electors and typically achieves a higher rate of voter participation.

Postal elections for local government were first trialled by four local governments in 1995. This increased to eight in 1997, 34 in 1999, 47 in 2001, 55 in 2003, 50 in 2005, 64 in 2007, 69 in 2009, 74 in 2011 and 76 in 2013.

List of local government elections (by council) conducted by the Commission


Share this page

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
StumbleUpon icon
Digg icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon