Election Timeline

Following the adoption of a fixed date for State general elections in Western Australia, other key dates in the election process can now also be confirmed in advance of election day.

2013 State general election timeline   

2013 State general election timeline (PDF, 94KB)

Key election dates

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

Issue of writs

Thursday, 7 February 2013

Nominations open

 

Applications for postal voting commence

Thursday, 14 February 2013

Party nominations close (12 noon)

 

Close of Rolls (6:00pm)

Friday, 15 February 2013

Close of Nominations (12 noon)

 

Draw for Ballot Paper positions

Monday, 18 February 2013

Voting tickets lodged (12 noon)

Wednesday, 20 February 2013

Early voting commences

Saturday, 23 February 2013

Mobile Polling commences

Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Applications for postal voting close (6:00pm)

 

Processing of early votes commences

Friday, 8 March 2013

Early voting (in person) closes (6:00pm)

Saturday, 9 March 2013

Polling day (8:00am-6:00pm)

Thursday, 14 March 2013

Final day for receipt of postal votes (9:00am)

Thursday, 4 April 2013

Writs returned

Monday, 6 May 2013

Last day writs can be returned

Issue of the Writs

A writ is a document that compels the Electoral Commissioner to hold elections and contains the dates for the close of nominations, polling day and the return of the writ. A separate writ is issued for elections for the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

The writs were issued for the 2013 State election on Wednesday, 6 February 2013 and returned on Friday, 5 April 2013.

Share this page

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
StumbleUpon icon
Digg icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon