Vacancies in two Legislative Council Regions

Nominations for vacancies in the East Metropolitan and North Metropolitan Regions will open when notices of the vacancies are published in The West Australian and The Australian on Saturday, 25 March 2017. The vacancy in the East Metropolitan Region has occurred following the resignation of the Hon. Amber-Jade Sanderson, whilst the resignation of the Hon. Peter Katsambanis has caused a vacancy in the North Metropolitan Region. Both members have since been elected to the Legislative Assembly in the recent State election.

Nominations will be open until 12 noon Tuesday, 4 April 2017 for any eligible candidates. To be eligible, a candidate must:

  • have contested the Legislative Council election for the Region at the 2013 State Election.
  • have not become a member of the Council since the 2013 State Election.
  • be otherwise eligible to be elected under section 76A of the Electoral Act 1907.

The list of nominated candidates will be published on the Commission’s website once nominations have closed. If there is only one nomination, that candidate will be declared elected.

If there is more than one nomination, all qualified candidates will be included in the re-count, which will be conducted at 4.00pm Tuesday, 4 April 2017 at L2 111 St Georges Tce, Perth. Candidates and the public are invited to attend.

Results will be available on the Commission’s website.

See the 2013 State Election results.