Cottesloe By-election

Media Release Date
Tuesday, 6 February, 2018

The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly has issued a writ directing the Electoral Commissioner to proceed with a by-election in the district of Cottesloe following the resignation of the former member the Hon. Colin Barnett MLA.

Polling day will be Saturday 17 March 2018.

are now open and will close at 12:00 noon on Friday 23 February 2018.

The electoral roll for the by-election will close on Wednesday 14 February 2018 at 6:00 pm.

Electoral Commissioner David Kerslake has called on eligible electors in the district to ensure that they are correctly enrolled.

Individual enrolment details can be checked and updated online at or by calling 136306.

residents in the district of Cottesloe need to make sure their enrolment is up to date, especially if they have recently changed address or turned 18’, Mr Kerslake said.

‘You cannot vote in this by-election if your name is not registered for the Cottesloe district when the roll closes.’

The Electoral Commissioner has appointed Mr David Payne as the Returning Officer. Mr Payne is an experienced Commission officer who also lives in the district.

For those who wish to vote early, details of early voting will be available on the Commission’s website at by no later than Monday 12 February 2018, or call 136306 for assistance.

Media Release File