Media Releases

27 February, 2023
The Electoral Commissioner has received formal advice from the Governor of a vacancy in the Legislative Council for the South West Region as a result of the resignation of the Hon Alannah MacTiernan… read more

22 December, 2022
Annual returns for the 2021–2022 financial year, required to be lodged by 30 November each year, can now be viewed on the Electoral Commission’s website. The disclosure of political donations is an… read more

14 September, 2022
Racegoers attending Saturday’s iconic Mount Magnet Cup meeting will also be able to cast their votes for the North West Central District By-election at the course. The WA Electoral Commission (WAEC… read more

09 September, 2022
Electors in Tom Price and Exmouth will have an extra early voting option from Monday next week (12 September) when ballot boxes will be placed in Australia Post Offices in those towns to accept… read more

08 September, 2022
An ambitious ‘fly-in-fly-out’ electoral program is underway to collect votes for the North West Central District by-election from some of WA’s most remote communities. The WA Electoral Commission’s… read more

26 August, 2022
A record field of 12 candidates have nominated to contest the North West Central District By-election on 17 September 2022 to replace retired MLA Vince Catania. Nominations closed at midday today (… read more

25 August, 2022
Remote electors in the North West Central District are being urged to consider postal voting to ensure they have a voice in the by-election on 17 September 2022.  WA Electoral Commissioner, Robert… read more

16 August, 2022
Time is running out for residents in the vast North West Central electorate to enrol or update their details for next month’s by-election. The deadline is 6pm tomorrow (Wednesday, 17 August 2022).… read more

09 August, 2022
The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly today provided the Electoral Commissioner with the writ for an election to be held following the resignation of the member for North West Central, Mr Vince… read more

09 August, 2022
Residents of Carnarvon, Exmouth, Wiluna, Kalbarri, Meekatharra, Denham, Tom Price and Onslow including surrounding areas and remote communities only have 8 days to enrol or update their contact… read more