State Elections

Western Australia has two houses of State Parliament - the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

State General Elections for both houses are held every four years on the second Saturday in March. The next State General Election in Western Australia is scheduled to be held on 8 March 2025. View the timeline for the election.

Western Australia is divided into 59 Legislative Assembly districts and one whole of State Legislative Council electorate. During a State General Election, one candidate is elected for each Legislative Assembly district and 37 candidates are elected for each Legislative Council.

Voting systems in Western Australia

Past elections

The Commission has results and publications for all State electoral events available electronically from the 1993 State election, including by-elections.

A by-election is held when an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly vacates their seat for any reason (e.g. resignation) which is not due to the expiration or dissolution of Parliament. The affected electorate then votes to elect a new member.

If a vacancy arises in the Legislative Council, a recount of votes cast at the previous general election is held in order to fill the vacancy. If no consenting qualified candidates who contested the previous election in that region are available, a fresh election must be held.

Past election results