Writ issued for by-election in North West Central - Media Fact Sheet

Media Release Date
Tuesday, 9 August, 2022

The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly today provided the Electoral Commissioner with the writ for an election to be held following the resignation of the member for North West Central, Mr Vince Catania.

Although Mr. Catania previously announced his intention to resign, the legislative requirements did not come into effect until today.

Polling day for the by-election will be Saturday 17 September 2022.

Key dates for the election are contained in the accompanying election timeline, which you can view here.

Media queries can be directed to media@waec.wa.gov.au where Commission staff will do their best to respond as quickly as possible. There is no dedicated media officer for this event. The Electoral Commissioner will make himself available for media interviews as much as possible and requests should similarly be directed to media@waec.gov.au. 

Facts about North West Central District North West Central


North West Central

Total area within the District: 820,591km2

Local Governments within the District 

Shire of Ashburton

Shire of Carnarvon

Shire of Cue

Shire of Exmouth

Shire of Meekatharra

Shire of Mount Magnet

Shire of Murchison

Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku

Shire of Northampton

Shire of Sandstone

Shire of Shark Bay

Shire of Upper Gascoyne

Shire of Wiluna

Shire of Yalgoo

Population - Number of Electors as at 2021 state election  10, 993 
Voter turnout - percentage of enrolled electors who cast a vote 

2013 - 79.30%

2017 - 73.24%

2021 - 73.76%

Authorised by the Electoral Commissioner 9 August 2022. Media enquiries to be directed to media@waec.wa.gov.au