Place your votes! Trackside polling option for Mount Magnet Racegoers

Media Release Date
Wednesday, 14 September, 2022

Racegoers attending Saturday’s iconic Mount Magnet Cup meeting will also be able to cast their votes for the North West Central District By-election at the course.

The WA Electoral Commission (WAEC) will have a Polling Team set up at the historic bush racing event between 11:30 am and 5.30 pm.

Electoral Commissioner Robert Kennedy said the coinciding of the by-election and Mount Magnet’s popular spring racing meeting on 17 September presented the Commission with an ideal opportunity to provide a ‘pop-up’ polling place.

“The Mount Magnet Cup meeting is one of the highlights of the Murchison social calendar, attracting several hundred racegoers from across the district and beyond,” Commissioner Kennedy said.

“In an electoral district larger than the State of New South Wales, we see this event as a great opportunity to take a polling place to the people.

“Not only is it convenient for racegoers, it helps us to achieve our goal of having as many electors as possible participate in this important by-election.”

As the Mount Magnet Race Club internal boundary is a licenced venue, and therefore legally unable to host a polling place, the Commission will set up the voting tent just outside the main public entrance.

“We would be encouraging eligible electors to cast their votes on the way into the track, rather than on the way out after possibly too many race day celebrations,” Commissioner Kennedy said (with a wink and a smile).

Whilst rare, it’s not the first time the Commission has provided a polling place at a significant regional event, with the Wagin Woolorama generally coinciding with WA’s State Elections since four-year, fixed terms were introduced in 2011.

The normal Mount Magnet polling place at the District High School will still operate between 8:00 am and 6:00 pm on Saturday, along with 14 other venues across the North West Central District.

Enrolled electors in the District are reminded that applications for postal votes close at 6 pm on Wednesday, 14 September. Applications can be made online, or for people without internet access they can be requested by phoning the Commission on 13 63 06.

Postal votes need to be received by the Commission by 9 am on Thursday, 22 September 2022 to be included in the count. They can also be handed in to the Polling Team at the Races or at the other Polling Places on Saturday.

Postal voters can also physically lodge their voting packages at the Exmouth and Tom Price Australia Post Offices this week until close of business on Friday.

The Early Voting Centre at the Carnarvon Woolshed will remain open each day from 8 am to 6:00 pm until Friday 16 September.

The WA Electoral Commission’s Perth office at Level 2, 111 St George’s Terrace, is also receiving early in person votes between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm until Friday.

Telephone Assisted Voting is also available for eligible electors to cast a secret vote.

Under the Electoral Act, an eligible elector is defined as an elector who cannot vote without assistance because the elector has insufficient literacy skills or is sight impaired or otherwise incapacitated.

The WAEC has established a specific call line for TAV on 136 800, or for international callers: +(61) 8 9214 7290.

TAV will be open until, and including,17 September 2022, between the hours of 8:00 am and 6:00 pm.

The Electoral Commissions in all other Australian States and Territories will accept votes from enrolled electors who are interstate during the by-election.             All relevant information on voting options and polling places can be found at

Media contact:, (08) 9214 0437