2004 Legislative Council Re-count

2004 Mining and Pastoral Region Re-count

On 16 September 2004, the Acting Electoral Commissioner was informed by His Excellency the Governor that the Hon. Thomas Gregory Stephens MLC, Member for the Mining and Pastoral Region, had resigned and his position had subsequently become vacant. Following this notification, the Acting Electoral Commissioner placed a notice in The West Australian and The Kalgoorlie Miner on Saturday 18 September 2004 advising that a vacancy existed. Nominations closed at 12 noon on Tuesday 28 September 2004. Six formal nominations from qualified persons had been received at that time. The candidates (in ballot paper order) were:

Candidates Party Affiliation
WYBORN, Irene Ann Pauline Hanson’s ONE NATION
LUDLAM, Scott Greens (WA)
LEAHY, Kevin John Australian Labor Party
NEVILL, Mark Warriedar Independent
SCOTT, Isabella Mary Liberal
COOPER, Vincent Charles Independent

Accordingly, the only candidates who could be declared elected at the re-count were the six who nominated in the prescribed manner set out in section 156C and regulation 25 of the Electoral Act 1907. Under the provisions of section 156D of the Act a full re-count of all ballot papers cast in the most recent Legislative Council election, on 10 February 2001, commenced after the close of nominations on Tuesday 28 September 2004.

The count was conducted pursuant to Schedule 1 of the Act. As votes at the 2001 State General Election were counted electronically using a software program, a re-count was required to be conducted in the same manner pursuant to section 156D(4) of the Electoral Act 1907, having regard for the exclusion of the Hon. Tom Stephens.

On completion of the count, the Acting Electoral Commissioner declared Kevin John Leahy to be elected as the member of the Legislative Council for the Agricultural Region.

Download a copy of the result of the 2004 Mining and Pastoral Region re-count (XLS, 49 kB).