2023 Legislative Council Vacancy

South West Region Vacancy

On 22 February 2023, the Electoral Commissioner was informed by His Excellency the Governor that the Hon. Alannah MacTiernan, member for the South West Region had resigned and her position had become vacant.

The vacancy was advertised on 9 March 2023 in The West Australian and South Western Times newspapers and on the Commission’s website.

Nominations were open from Wednesday 9 March until 12.00 noon, Monday 20 March 2023 for qualified persons.

A qualified person, in relation to a vacancy, means a person who —

  1. was a candidate at the original election;
  2. did not withdraw from, and was not elected at, that election;
  3. has not become a member of the Council since that election; and
  4. is qualified to be elected and is not disqualified from being elected as a member of the Council.

Results of Re-Count

A re-count of votes from the 2021 election was conducted at 2 pm, 20 March at the Commission Offices at Level 2, 111 St Georges Terrace, Perth.

As a result of the re-count the Commissioner declared Ben Dawkins elected as a member of the Legislative Council to fill the vacancy.

Detailed results of the re-count can be found here.

You can watch the recount by clicking here.

Close of Nominations

Nominations for the vacancy in the South West Region closed at 12.00 noon on 20 March 2023.

At the close of nominations, the Electoral Commissioner had received three nominations for the South West Region from qualified persons. These consenting candidates are:

Candidate name

Ben Dawkins

Kylie Fitzgerald

George Seth

These consenting candidates will be included in a re-count which will be conducted at 2 pm, 20 March at the Commission Offices at Level 2, 111 St Georges Terrace, Perth. Candidates, their Scrutineers and members of the public are invited to attend. Scrutineer forms can be found here.


For all media releases related to the 2023 Legislative Council Vacancy, please see here